I met my wife the year I became homeless.

We weren’t looking for it, it just happened

Lawson Wallace
2 min readFeb 29, 2020
Authors personal photo

It was a day or two before Halloween 2014. I had accepted a Facebook friend request from an African American who lived in South Carolina.

I was living in a Relative’s Basement in Minnesota at the time, and things were not going well. It took a while to find a job there, and I was having a hard time learning my way around the area.

I was on Facebook when she messaged me. “ Can I talk to you?” She asked, the way she did it made me smile.

“ Sure,” I answered. “ How are you doing?” It wasn’t a long conversation, we just talked for a few minutes, then I had to leave for my midnight shift as a security guard at a local Mall.

As I was leaving, the lady of the house stopped me at the door and told me to pack my stuff and get out. I did the only thing I could do, I went to work.

I completed my shift, then went back to the house to change out of my uniform and pack. right before I put my laptop in my backpack, I logged on to Facebook.

She was waiting for me. “ How are you doing?” She asked.

“ Not too well,” I answered. I told her what happened, and that I was going to find a homeless shelter. “ I have to go,” I said as I logged off and shut down the Macbook.

I packed an overnight bag, leaving most of my clothes in the basement, then I loaded my truck and left, not looking back.

--

--

Lawson Wallace

63-year-old married guy, I have been writing stories for years, but never submitted or published anything. I write about my successes and failures, everything.